Author Topic: selling property tax resident  (Read 1512 times)

Offline Davison

selling property tax resident
« on: October 17, 2017, 13:44. »
Hi value your opinions on selling in Spain (any hidden charges) im a tax resident selling will not need to pay capital gains as far as im aware all taxes up to date (horendous Agent fees)  and I need an energy efficiency cert, I will be be buying another property in Spain.  I heard someone had to pay an extra 5K as a land tax on selling but they were taking equity back to UK
Thanks

Offline John H

• Global Moderator
  • Galactic Member
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 23:29. »
Our place is on the market, I had a meeting with our solicitor earlier this year.
My costs will be;
Estate agent at agreed percentages
Solicitors fees, for advice during the sale, review of sales contract, answering buyers solicitors questions, payment of plus valia, attending the meeting at the notary when the sale is completed, reclaiming the 3% retention and closing Spanish bank account €800
The solicitor has looked after all our affairs since buying the place 13 years ago and had informed us that reclaiming the 3% is a simple formality as she had 13 years of our tax returns
Plus Valia she calculates at c. €850
EPC already obtained €215
Certificate from the administrator confirming that our account is up to date €30
At our predicted sale price she calculated that we would have no CGT to pay, pity!!
Hope this helps

Regards all

John

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
« Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 23:35. by John H »
"If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got."

Offline BeachLife

• Galactic Member
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2017, 00:52. »
John how are they able to charge plusvalia at 850 - thats a liberty

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
BeachLife

Offline Tony Gillam

• Galactic Member
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2017, 07:18. »